Home / Guides

AI receptionist pricing in 2026: what 10 services actually charge

Most "AI receptionist cost" pages are written by one vendor and end with its own plan. This page lists the published prices of 10 services side by side, copied from each official pricing page on Oct 15, 2026. It explains the three pricing models and walks through a cost example you can redo with your own numbers.

Price table (as published, Oct 15, 2026)

ServiceModelPublished priceTrial
RosieMonthly tiers$49 / $149 / $299 per month; texting add-on $50/monthFree trial
Marlie AIMonthly + per-minute$49 (250 min), $99 (500 min), $199 (1,000 min), $399 (2,000 min); overage $0.35-$0.25/min2-week money-back guarantee
GoodcallMonthly tiers$79 / $129 / $299 per monthFree trial
My AI Front DeskMonthly$99/month, or $79/month billed annuallyNot stated
Aria VoiceMonthly, by number of AI agents$99 (1 agent), $290 (3), $490 (10) per month; or $990 / $2,900 / $4,900 per yearFree trial
CloudTalkPer user + per minute€19-€49 per user/month (annual) plus AI voice agents per minute14-day trial
RubyPer minute (live receptionists)$250 (50 min), $395 (100 min), $720 (200 min), $1,725 (500 min) per month; chat from $143/monthNot stated
Smith.aiPer call (AI + humans)$300/month for 30 calls ($11.50 extra); $810/month for 90 calls ($10.50 extra)Not stated
IntakerNot publishedContact vendorNot stated
LawmaticsNot publishedContact vendorNot stated

Prices change often. Each tool page links to the pricing page we checked.

Three pricing models

  1. Flat monthly tiers (Rosie, Goodcall, My AI Front Desk, Aria Voice). Easy to budget. Higher tiers add capacity or features. Check what each tier caps (minutes, calls, numbers, agents).
  2. Monthly fee + included minutes + per-minute overage (Marlie AI, and CloudTalk's AI voice agents on top of its per-user licence). Cheapest if your calls are short. Costs rise with long calls.
  3. Per call, with humans in the loop (Smith.ai), or per minute with humans (Ruby). Highest list price, but live people can handle upset or complex callers.

Worked example: 200 calls a month, 3 minutes each

This is arithmetic on published prices, not a quote. The volume is an assumption; swap in your own. 200 calls × 3 minutes = 600 minutes.

  • Marlie AI Standard: $99 includes 500 minutes. The other 100 minutes × $0.35 = $35, so about $134/month. The Pro plan ($199, 1,000 minutes) would cover it with room to spare.
  • Smith.ai: the 90-call plan is $810, plus 110 extra calls × $10.50 = $1,155, so about $1,965/month. That includes live receptionists.
  • Rosie, Goodcall, My AI Front Desk, Aria Voice: the flat price applies if 600 minutes fits inside the tier's limits. Confirm each tier's minute or call allowance on its pricing page before relying on the headline number.

Costs that aren't on the headline price

  • Overage per minute or per call above the allowance.
  • Add-ons, for example Rosie's $50/month texting add-on.
  • Integrations: CRM or practice-software sync sometimes needs a higher tier, or a Zapier account.
  • Annual billing: discounts (My AI Front Desk $79 vs $99; Aria Voice yearly prices) lock you in for 12 months.
  • Setup time: writing scripts and testing calls. Budget a few hours in the first week.

Full comparison: integrations and best for

ToolJobPrice (as stated)Integrations mentioned on official siteBest for
Rosie
Never miss another call with our AI-powered call answering service. 10x better than voicemail. 10x cheaper than a traditional phone answering service.
Client intake & receptionistProfessional $49/mo, Scale $149/mo, Growth $299/mo; texting add-on $50/mo; free trial. (checked on official site, Oct 15, 2026) [source]Zapier [source]Solo owners and small local businesses [source]
Marlie AI
24/7 AI phone receptionist. Its law-firm page says it handles legal intake, screens leads, detects conflicts and books consultations.
Client intake & receptionistBasic $49/mo (250 min, then $0.35/min), Standard $99/mo (500 min), Pro $199/mo (1,000 min, then $0.30/min), Premium $399/mo (2,000 min, then $0.25/min). (checked on official site, Oct 15, 2026) [source]Clio, MyCase, PracticePanther, Lawmatics, Calendly, Google Calendar, Outlook [source][source]Small businesses; has a dedicated law-firm offering for solo and small firms on Clio [source]
Goodcall
Goodcall offers an AI answering service built on voice AI. Gabi builds and runs your virtual receptionist for businesses from small shops to large enterprises, including contact centers.
Client intake & receptionistStarter $79/mo, Growth $129/mo, higher tier $299/mo; free trial. (checked on official site, Oct 15, 2026) [source]Zapier [source]Small businesses (AI answering service) [source]
My AI Front Desk
Frontdesk is the agentic AI customer platform that answers calls, texts and chats, books appointments and updates your CRM around the clock. Start free.
Client intake & receptionistBusiness-in-a-Box $99/mo or $79/mo billed annually. (checked on official site, Oct 15, 2026) [source]Slack, Salesforce, HubSpot, Pipedrive, Zapier, Shopify, Stripe, Outlook [source][source]Small and medium businesses (AI receptionist) [source]
Aria Voice
AI phone receptionist that answers routine questions, captures new inquiries, takes messages and transfers to staff. It's AI only; there are no human receptionists.
Client intake & receptionistStarter $99/mo ($990/yr, 1 AI agent), Standard $290/mo ($2,900/yr, 3 agents), Premium $490/mo ($4,900/yr, 10 agents); free trial. (checked on official site, Oct 15, 2026) [source]Not stated on the pages we checkedService businesses, including law firms [source]
CloudTalk
Cloud phone system (numbers in 160+ countries, routing, dialers) with add-on AI voice agents that answer or make calls when the team can't.
Client intake & receptionist€19-€49 per user/month billed annually; AI Voice Agents billed separately per minute; 14-day trial. (checked on official site, Oct 15, 2026) [source]Zapier, Make [source]Sales and support teams who live on the phone (general, not law-specific) [source]
Ruby
15,000+ small businesses trust the virtual receptionists at Ruby to create meaningful connections over the phone and through live chat, 24/7.
Client intake & receptionistReceptionist (calls): 50 min $250/mo, 100 min $395/mo, 200 min $720/mo, 500 min $1,725/mo; chat from $143/mo (10 chats); bundles from $115 for 10 chats. (checked on official site, Oct 16, 2026) [source]Clio, MyCase, Filevine, Microsoft Teams, Slack, Salesforce, HubSpot, Zapier [source][source]Small businesses, including law firms (live virtual receptionists and chat) [source]
Smith.ai
Smith.ai offers the best AI agents and live North America-based receptionists to capture and convert more leads. Call answering, intake, and scheduling for small businesses since 2015. Setup in minutes.
Client intake & receptionistAI + human receptionists: 30 calls $300/mo ($11.50 per extra call); 90 calls $810/mo ($10.50 per extra call). (checked on official site, Oct 15, 2026) [source]Clio, MyCase, PracticePanther, Smokeball, Filevine, Gmail, Salesforce, HubSpot [source]Firms that want AI plus live North America-based receptionists for calls and lead intake. [source]
Intaker
Intaker helps law firms convert more leads with AI-powered chat, texting, and automation, so every inquiry gets answered in seconds, across every channel.
Client intake & receptionistNot published on the official site (contact vendor)Not stated on the pages we checkedLaw firms converting website leads via AI chat, texting and automation. [source]
Lawmatics
Try the #1 legal software today! With Lawmatics you can increase your legal practice efficiency and revenue. Learn more about our law firm software!
Client intake & receptionistNot published on the official site (contact vendor) [source]QuickBooks, Clio, MyCase, PracticePanther, Smokeball, Filevine, Outlook, Gmail, Zoom, Google Ads, Meta Ads, Microsoft Teams [source][source]Law firms (client intake, CRM and marketing automation) [source]

Running a law firm? Read AI receptionists for law firms (ethics and Clio integrations). See all tools in AI receptionist and intake.

Frequently asked questions

How much do AI receptionists cost?

Among the 10 services we checked (official sites, Oct 15, 2026), published entry prices start at $49/month (Rosie and Marlie AI's Basic plan) and go up to $399-$490/month for higher tiers (Marlie AI Premium, Aria Voice Premium). Hybrid services that add human receptionists cost more: Smith.ai's AI + human plan is $300/month for 30 calls. Two of the 10 (Intaker, Lawmatics) don't publish prices.

Is an AI receptionist worth it?

It's worth it if you miss calls that would have become paying work. Compare one month's price with the value of one or two extra clients or jobs. If most of your calls are existing clients with complex questions, a human or hybrid service may serve them better. Every service listed here offers a trial or a monthly plan, so you can test it on real calls before committing.

What is the cheapest AI receptionist?

On published list prices, Rosie (Professional, $49/month) and Marlie AI (Basic, $49/month with 250 minutes, then $0.35/minute) were the lowest we found. The cheapest plan isn't always cheapest in practice: check the included minutes or calls, overage rates, and which features (CRM sync, call transfer, texting) need a higher tier.

Is an AI receptionist cheaper than a human answering service?

Usually, yes, on list price. Smith.ai, which combines AI with live receptionists, charges $300/month for 30 calls ($11.50 per extra call). Flat AI-only plans like Goodcall ($79/month) or My AI Front Desk ($99/month) cost less per month. But plan limits differ, so compare at your own call volume.

Do AI receptionists charge per minute or per call?

Both models exist. Marlie AI charges a monthly fee with included minutes and per-minute overage. Smith.ai charges per call above an included number. CloudTalk charges a per-user phone licence plus per-minute AI voice agent usage. Rosie, Goodcall, My AI Front Desk and Aria Voice sell monthly tiers.

Sources

  1. Rosie pricing
  2. Marlie AI pricing
  3. Goodcall pricing
  4. My AI Front Desk pricing
  5. Aria Voice plans
  6. Smith.ai receptionist pricing
  7. Ruby plans and pricing
  8. CloudTalk (pricing FAQ on homepage)

Monthly: new AI agents for your firm type

One email a month with newly listed tools and price changes. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

We store your email, firm type, page and signup time only to send this email. See our privacy policy.